Australia lift the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Trophy

Australia win the ICC Men's T20 World Cup
© Twitter

Five-time ODI world champions Australia beat New Zealand at the Dubai International Stadium to win their first-ever T20 World Cup. Last night they beat the Kiwis by eight wickets. On the other side, New Zealand have failed again to win a trophy in the ICC events.

New Zealand have lost three World Cup finals. In 2015, New Zealand lost their first final against the same team, Australia. After that, New Zealand lost again in 2019 at the world cup final against England. Finally, New Zealand lost their third World Cup final last night against the Aussies.

Match Report

The Aussie skipper Aaron Finch won the toss at the Dubai International Stadium and elected to bowl first. Australia have played with an unchanged XI, but New Zealand replaced Devon Conway because of his injury.

Anyway, Martin Guptill and Daryl Mitchell added 28 runs in the opening partnership. In the fourth over, Daryl Mitchell lost his wicket to Josh Hazlewood after scoring 11 runs. Martin Guptill also could not stay longer on the pitch. He had to go back to the pavilion after scoring 28 runs.

Then the Kiwi skipper Kane Williamson fought alone. He tried to make a fighting score against the Aussies. Williamson added 85 runs on the scoreboard from 48 balls. He hit three sixes and ten fours in his innings. Kane Williamson is the only Kiwi batsman to get a half-century in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup final.

Relying on Kane Williamson, New Zealand scored 172 runs in 20 overs. Josh Hazlewood picked up three wickets for Australia, and Adam Zampa got one.

Chasing 172 runs, Australia lost the first wicket in the third over. Trent Boult picked the wicket of Aaron Finch. But, David Warner made a brilliant partnership with Mitchell Marsh. Both of them got half-century last night. They added 92 runs together on the scoreboard. Warner scored 53 runs from 38 balls before losing his wicket.

On the other side, Mitchell Marsh finished the match with Glenn Maxwell. Marsh scored an unbeaten 77 runs from 50 balls. Maxwell scored 28 runs from 18 balls as well. However, Trent Boult picked two wickets for the Kiwis.

Summary & Stats

New Zealand: 172/4 (20 Overs)

Australia: 173/2 (18.5 Overs)

  • Man of the Match            : Mitchel Marsh
  • Player of the Tournament: David Warner
  • Top Scorer                       : Babar Azam (303 Runs)
  • Top Wicket Taker             : Wanindu Hasaranga (16 Wickets)
Exit mobile version