Australia white-washed New Zealand

Australia won the series against New Zealand
© Twitter

Australia have completed the white-wash over New Zealand in the Cazalys Stadium. They defeated the Black Caps by 25 runs in the third ODI of the series to complete the white-wash. However, Aussie skipper Aaron Finch has played his last ODI game for Australia with this match as he declared his retirement from the ODI.

Match Report

Kane Williamson, the captain of New Zealand, won the toss and decided to bowl first. So, Australia started their innings with Aaron Finch and Josh Inglis. Both openers were batting slowly. New Zealand’s pacers were very deadliest in the power play. It became difficult for the Aussie batters to get runs in the power play. Moreover, Australia lost their first wicket in the 5th over as Josh Inglis departed the pitch after scoring only 10 runs.

Aaron Finch, the captain of Australia, also failed to get a decent score in his last ODI. He scored only five runs before losing the wicket. As a result, Australia lost two wickets in 16 runs. After that, Steven Smith and Marnus Labuschagne started ruling the Kiwi bowlers. Both batters picked up a half-century in this match. They added 118 runs together on the scoreboard. Unfortunately, Marnus Labuschagne lost his wicket after scoring 52 runs.

Don’t miss:  Bangladesh fought hard but lost against India

On the other side, Steven Smith continued scoring runs. He made another partnership of 69 runs with the new batter, Alex Carey. However, Smith scored the highest 105 runs before leaving the crease. He hit eleven fours and one six during his innings. Relying on his bat, Australia scored 267 runs in 50 overs.

Chasing the target, New Zealand had a flying start. Finn Allen and Devon Conway were very aggressive from the beginning of their innings. But their aggression ended in the 9th over as Sean Abbott picked up Devon Conway.

After a while, Finn Allen also lost his wicket after scoring 35 runs. Captain Williamson then tried to make a partnership. But the next two batters failed to stay long on the pitch. Williamson also departed the pitch with 27 runs. However, Glenn Phillips, James Neesham, and Mitchel Santner tried hard in the lower order. Phillips scored the highest 47 runs for the Kiwis. But it was not enough to win the match. New Zealand became all out in 242 runs. As a result, Australia won the 3rd ODI by 25 runs.