Bangladesh fought hard but lost against India

India wins the series
© Twitter

India won the three-match test series against the home team, Bangladesh. India secured the series today by winning the 2nd match. The 2nd test started on December 22, but the test match ended in four days.

In the first innings, India took a lead of 87 runs. Bangladesh tried to make resistance in the 2nd innings, but their batters failed to contribute much. However, Indian batters also struggled in their 2nd innings. Bangladesh had gone close today, but India finally won the match by three wickets.

As it happened

Bangladesh were 87 runs behind India at the start of their 2nd innings. And like the 1st innings, Bangladesh failed to get a good opening partnership. Indian spinner Ravichandran Ashwin picked up the first wicket of Bangladesh.

Mominul Haque, the next batter, also failed to contribute much. He departed the crease with five runs only. However, opener Zakir Hasan kept fighting against the Indian bowlers. He made a partnership of 25 runs with the captain, Shakib Al Hasan. Unfortunately, the other batters couldn’t support him much. The captain returned to the pavilion after scoring 13 runs.

Don’t miss:  India won the three-match ODI series

Besides, Zakir Hasan got his 2nd century in this innings. But Umesh Yadav picked up Zakir Hasan in the 43rd over. Before leaving the pitch, Zakir scored 51 runs.

It seemed Bangladesh could be all out before 200 runs. But Liton Kumar Das played a vital role in the middle order. Liton added the highest 73 runs for Bangladesh, which helped the team to end their innings with 231 runs.

To win the match, India needed only 144 runs in three days. It was obviously an easy target for India. But Bangladeshi bowlers made it difficult for the visitors to chase the target. Shubman Gill, KL Rahul, and Cheteshwar Pujara, the first three batters of India, couldn’t cross ten runs respectively.

Captain Shakib Al Hasan tried to destroy India’s batting lineup with Mehedy Hasa. Mehedi Hasan was very deadliest in the final two days. He picked up five wickets alone.

But Axar Patel, Shreyas Iyer, and Ravichandra Ashwin stepped forward to save India. Axar added 34 runs before losing the wicket. Meanwhile, Ravindra Ashwin and Shreyas Iyer remained not out in the 2nd innings. Iyer added 29 runs, while Ashwin scored an unbeaten 42 off 62 balls to win the match.