Chennai Super Kings have qualified for the play-off round

Chennai Super Kings beat Sunrisers Hyderabad
© Twitter

Three-time IPL champions Chennai Super Kings have qualified for the play-off round. They are the first team in this tournament to secure a place in the play-off. Last night, Chennai Super Kings beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by six wickets with two balls in hand. Chennai Captain MS Dhoni won the toss at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium and elected to bowl first.

Sunrisers Hyderabad Innings

Jason Roy and Wriddhiman Saha started the innings for Sunrisers Hyderabad. Jason Roy, who scored a half-century against the Rajasthan Royals, could not succeed against the Chennai Super Kings. He had to go back to the pavilion scoring only two runs. The wicket of Jason Roy was very important for Chennai. Skipper MS Dhoni knew Jason Roy would play big innings if he could not take the wicket earlier. So, they became aggressive when Roy came on the pitch.

In the 4th over, Chennai bowler Josh Hazlewood took the wicket of Jason Roy. The other opener Wriddhiman Saha was a little bit slow on the pitch. He tried to play as long as he could. He scored a maximum of 44 off 46 balls for Sunrisers Hyderabad before losing the wicket to Rabindra Jadeja. Wriddhiman Saha hit two sixes and a boundary. However, the rest of the Hyderabad batsmen could not score enough runs for the team. So, Sunrisers Hyderabad scored 134 for 7 in 20 overs.

Don’t miss:  Rajasthan Royals moved up to 2nd place

Australian pacer Josh Hazlewood took three wickets for Chennai Super Kings, while DJ Bravo took two wickets of Sunrisers Hyderabad. Shardul Thakur and Ravindra Jadeja took one wicket for each.

Chennai Super Kings Innings

The two openers of Chennai Super Kings started the innings in style. They started hitting from the very beginning of the innings. R. Gaikwad has become the trump card for Chennai. He gave a good start to Chennai Super Kings in every match. Both openers of Chennai took 75 runs on the scoreboard. R. Gaikwad scored 45 runs from 38 balls before losing the wicket to Jason Holder. On the other side, Faf du Plessis scored 41 runs off the 36 balls. He hit two sixes and three boundaries before losing his wicket.

However, the other batsmen gave support to the team to win this game. As a result, Chennai Super Kings chased 135 runs in 19 over and lost four wickets. With this win, Chennai Super Kings qualify for the play-off round. Jason Holder took three wickets for Chennai Super Kings and Rashid Khan one.

Don’t miss:  Gujarat Titans are the champion of the IPL 2022


SRH – 134/7

CSK – 139/4