Gujarat Titans made a grand debut in IPL

Gujarat Titans Lucknow
© Twitter

Ten teams have participated in IPL 2022. Among them, Gujarat Titans are the new name in this tournament. They made a grand entry in IPL as they beat Lucknow Super Giants last night. Gujarat Titans won their very first match in IPL by five wickets. Pacer Mohammad Shami got the Man of the Match award for his brilliant bowling performance.

Match Review

The Titans’ skipper Hardik Pandya won the toss and decided to bowl first at Wankhede Cricket Stadium. So, KL Rahul and Quinton de Kock started the batting innings for Lucknow Super Giants. But, the Lucknow lost their first wicket in the first ball of this innings. Mohammad Shami picked up the wicket of Lucknow’s captain, KL Rahul. In addition, Shami hit again in his 2nd over. This time he bowled out Quinton de Kock. In the next over, Lucknow lost their third wicket as Evin Lewis has departed after scoring only ten runs. Moreover, Lucknow Super Giants lost four wickets in five overs.

Don’t miss:  Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Rajasthan Royals

It seemed like the LSG would become all-out before scoring a hundred runs. But Deepak Hooda and Ayush Badoni played very crucial innings in the 5th wicket. They brilliantly tackled the batting disaster. Both batters got the half-century in this match. Deepak scored 55 runs from 44 balls, while Ayush Badoni scored 54 off 41 balls. Depending on these runs, Lucknow Super Giants set a target of 159 runs to the Gujarat Titans.

Like the LSG, Gujarat Titans also lost their first wicket in the first over. Shubman Gill, who was in prime form for Kolkata Knight Riders last season, departed without scoring any runs for Gujarat. The next batsman, Vijay Shankar, also failed to score big runs. He lost the wicket in the 3rd over. However, opener Matthew Wade made a brilliant partnership of 57 runs with the skipper, Hardik Pandya. Both batters made the chasing target easier for the remaining batters. Unfortunately, Pandya lost the wicket in 33 runs. After a while, opener Matthew Wade also departed after adding 34 runs on the scoreboard.

Don’t miss:  Josh Butter’s cameo innings beat Kolkata Knight Riders


However, David Miller and Rahul Tewatia successfully chased down the target two balls before the 20th over. Rahul Tewatia remained not out in 40 runs. Anyway, Dushmantha Chamera got two wickets for Lucknow. Avesh Khan, Krunal Pandya, and Deepak Hoda picked up one wicket each.