India win the ODI series against Zimbabwe

India VS Zimbabwe
© Twitter

India have secured the three-match ODI series by defeating Zimbabwe in the 2nd match of the series. Indian Cricket Board has sent a comparatively young team to play the series with Zimbabwe, the home team. Despite being a young team, India didn’t face difficulties in winning the series. Today, they defeated the home team by five wickets to seal the series.

Match Report

KL Rahul, the captain of India, won the toss and decided to bowl first at the Harare Sports Ground. So, the home team started their batting innings with Takudzwanashe Kaitano and Innocent Kaia. Both batsmen were very much defensive on the pitch. But they failed to make a good partnership despite being so defensive. Zimbabwe lost their first wicket in the 9th over as T. Kaitano departed the pitch, scoring 7 runs only.

In the 12th over, the home team lost two more wickets. Bowler Prasidh Krishna picked up Kaia and Chakabva in the same over. Dependable batsman Sikandar Raza also failed to make enough runs. He lost his wicket to Kuldeep Yadav in the 21st over. However, Sikandar Raza scored 16 runs before leaving the pitch.

Don’t miss:  Bulawayo Test: Zimbabwe VS West Indies

However, Sean Williams and Ryan Burl tried to build a partnership in the middle order. They added 33 runs together on the scoreboard. Unfortunately, their partnership broke when Sean Williamson departed the pitch in the 28th over. Sean Williamson scored 42 off 42 balls for the team. Although Ryan Burl remained not out in 39 runs, the remaining batters couldn’t stay long on the pitch. As a result, Zimbabwe became all out in 161 runs.

Chasing the target, India also failed to get a good start as the skipper departed the pitch after scoring only one run. But Shikhar Dhawan tackled the disaster with the new batter, Shubhman Gill. They added 42 runs together on the scoreboard. However, both batters lost their wickets after scoring 33 runs each. But their departure didn’t affect India in chasing the target. Sanju Samson scored a brilliant 43 off 39 balls to win the match. Depending on his bat, India chased the target in 27 overs and secured the series at Harare Sports Ground.