India won the series against England

India VS England
© Twitter

England couldn’t defend the T20 series at their home ground as they lost two consecutive matches in the three-match series. Last night, India defeated England by 49 runs at Edgbaston and won the series. However, India pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar became the Player of the Match for his magnificent bowling spell.

Match Report

England welcomed India at the Edgbaston to play the 2nd match of the series. In this match, England’s skipper Josh Buttler won the toss and decided to bowl first. So, India started their batting innings with Rohit Sharma and Rishab Pant. Both batsmen tried to play aggressively from the beginning of the match. They picked up 49 runs in the opening partnership. After that, Rohit Sharma lost his wicket to Richard Gleeson in the 5th over. He scored 31 off 20 balls before his departure.

India lost two wickets in the 7th over. Richard Gleeson took the wickets of Virat Kohli and Rishab Pant in this over. Kohli departed the pitch in 1 run only, while Pant lost his wicket after scoring 26 runs. It seemed India could become all out without scoring enough runs. But Ravindra Jadeja played very crucial innings at the lower order. He remained not out in 46 runs. However, India set a target of 171 runs for England.

Don’t miss:  Bangladesh make a comeback against Zimbabwe

Defending the target, India had a flying start as Bhuvneshwar Kumar picked up the wicket in the very first ball. Bhuvneshwar Kumar was on fire against the English batters. He hit again in the 3rd over. This time, he took the wicket of England’s skipper, Josh Buttler. However, David Malan tried hard to build a partnership. But the other players couldn’t stay longer on the pitch. After a while, Malan had to go back to the pavilion after scoring 19 runs.

However, Moeen Ali accelerated the runs as he added 35 runs with three fours and two sixes. Furthermore, David Willey added another 33 runs for England. But the remaining batsmen couldn’t contribute enough. So, England became all out in 121 runs. As a result, India won the match by 49 runs and sealed the series.