IPL: KKR beat RCB in the first match

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
© Twitter

The Indian Premier League, IPL has started on the 19th September 2021 in Abu Dhabi due to the Covid crisis in India. IPL is a domestic cricket tournament played in 20 overs. Eight teams participate in this T20 tournament. Last night, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by nine wickets and 10 overs in hand.

Match Report

Royal Challengers Bangalore won the toss at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Dubai and elected to bat first. The RCB captain Virat Kohli and D. Padikkal started the innings against Kolkata Knight Riders. Both batsmen could not start the innings comfortably. Captain Virat Kohli had to go back to the dressing room at the very beginning of the match. In the second over of the match, KKR pacer Prasad Krishna took the wicket of RCB captain Virat Kohli. Losing the first wicket, Padikkal and Srikar Bharat played carefully.

On the 6th over, New Zealand bowler Lockie Ferguson took the wicket of Devdutt Padikkal, who scored the highest 22 runs for RCB. Royal Challengers Bangalore lost their third wicket in 51 runs. A B de Villiers then came to the wicket but had to go back without scoring any run for RCB. The other batsmen of Royal Challengers Bangalore could not score enough runs. They lost all the wickets scoring 92 runs in 19 overs.

Don’t miss:  Kolkata Knight Riders beat Punjab Kings

Chasing the target of 93 runs, KKR won in ten overs, losing only one wicket. Both opener batsmen of Kolkata Knight Riders played aggressive innings. Shubnam Gill scored the highest 48 runs for the KKR. He has hit six boundaries and one over-boundary. But he was unfortunate not to score a half-century. Indian leg spinner Yuzvendra Chahal took the wicket of Shubnam Gill in the 10th over. It was the only wicket KKR lost. The other batsman V. Iyer played just 27 balls and scored 41 runs. He has hit seven boundaries and one six. Kolkata Knight Riders won by the runs of these two opener batsmen. The Player of the Match award went to Varun Chakravarthy, who got three wickets of Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Today’s Match

Rajasthan Royals will face Punjab Kings at Dubai International Stadium at 7:30 pm (Indian Time).