Kolkata Knight Riders beat Delhi Capitals to reach the IPL final

© Twitter

Kolkata Knight Riders have secured a place in the IPL final, defeating Delhi Capitals in Qualifier 2. The Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Capitals met last night at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium. In this match, Kolkata won against Delhi by 3 wickets in the final over. Now they will face Chennai Super Kings in the final.

Match Review

Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium and decided to bowl first. So, Delhi Capitals had to begin the innings. Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw started the innings for Delhi Capitals. But, Prithvi Shaw was not successful in this match. He lost his wicket to Varun Chakravarthi after scoring 18 runs. Shikhar Dhawan, on the other hand, batted carefully. He made 36 off 39 balls with two sixes and a four. It was the highest individual score for Delhi Capitals.

In the 15th over, Shikhar Dhawan lost his wicket to Varun Chakravarthi. Shakib Al Hasan took a great catch of Dhawan, which brought him the Vivo Perfect Catch of the Match award. However, Shreyash Iyer scored unbeaten 30 runs from 27 balls. It was the second-highest run for Delhi Capitals. No other batsmen of Delhi scored enough runs. So after 20 overs, Delhi took 135 runs on the scoreboard for 5 wickets.

Kolkata got off to a great start as they set a target of 137 runs. Both openers of Kolkata Knight Riders started the innings in style. Shubman Gill and V. Iyer scored 96 runs together. V. Iyer got a half-century in this match. He scored 55 off 41 balls with four boundaries and three over boundaries.

After losing the wickets of these two batsmen, Kolkata was in trouble. In the last five overs, Kolkata lost five wickets and scored only 17 runs. It seemed like they were losing the game. They needed seven runs in the last over. But, they lost two wickets in the final over as Ravichandran Ashwin took the wickets of Shakib Al Hasan and Sunil Narine. Finally, Kolkata needed six runs from the last two balls. Rahul Tripathi saved them by hitting a massive six. As a result, Kolkata Knight Riders beat Delhi Capitals by 3 wickets.

Exit mobile version