South Africa won the three-match ODI series

India VS South Africa
© Twitter

South Africa have sealed the three-match ODI series against India, winning the first two matches. They won the first match by 31 runs at Boland Park.  Yesterday, they secured the series by winning the second match. However, the host will play the last ODI of this series tomorrow at Newlands Cricket Ground. If South Africa win tomorrow, they will whitewash the visitors.

Second ODI

India has traveled to South Africa to play ODI and T20 series. Yesterday, Indian skipper KL Rahul won the toss at Boland Park and decided to bat first. In this match, the visitors made no changes to the squad. On the other side, the home team replaced Marco Jansen with Sisanda Magala in the second match.

However, India have had a fair start as both openers got the runs. Skipper KL Rahul made a brilliant partnership of 63 runs with Shikhar Dhawan. But Dhawan lost his wicket after scoring 29 runs. Then Virat Kohli, former captain of India, departed without getting any runs. Spinner Keshav Maharaj took that wicket in the 12th over.

On the other side, KL Rahul continued the pace of scoring runs. He made another partnership with Rishabh Pant. They added 115 runs together on the scoreboard. Unfortunately, Rahul lost his wicket to Sisanda Magala after scoring 55 runs. But Rishabh Pant tackled the situation. He scored 85 runs for the team before losing the wicket.

So after playing 50 overs, India scored 287 runs for six wickets. Tabraiz Shamsi took two wickets, while Magala, Markram, Maharaj, and Phehlukwayo got one wicket each.

Chasing the target of 287 runs, the home team has had a magnificent start. Both openers comfortably picked up runs for the team. Janneman Malan and Quinton de Kock got a half-century in this match. However, they added 132 runs in the opening partnership. After that, de Kock lost his wicket in the 22nd over.

Then, Malan added another hundred runs with captain Bavuma. Unfortunately, Malan missed the century only for nine runs. Indian pacer Jasprit Bumrah took his wicket. But, the remaining batsmen chased the target within the 49th over. As a result, South Africa won the second ODI by seven wickets, and have won the series.


Exit mobile version