SRH ended the winning run of Gujarat Titans

© Twitter

Finally, Sun Risers Hyderabad have ended the winning run of Gujarat Titans. Last night they beat the Gujarat Titans by eight wickets. As a result, the Titans missed the chance to go to the top of the table. It is their very first participation in the Indian Premier League. They have won all of their first four matches in this tournament. But Sun Risers Hyderabad stopped them from winning the consecutive five games in the IPL. However, with this victory, the SRH have climbed up to 8th on the point table.

Match Report

Kane Williamson, the captain of the SRH, won the toss and decided to bowl first. So, Matthew Wade and Shubhman Gill started the batting innings for Gujarat Titans. But Gujarat Titans lost the first wicket as Shubman Gill, who scored 95 runs in the last match, departed after scoring only seven runs. He has had a tremendous season with KKR in the previous year. He has also been playing well this season for Gujarat. Unfortunately, he departed early against Hyderabad.

Don’t miss:  Gujarat Titans confirmed the final

However, Gujarat Titans lost two more wickets within 8 overs. Matthew Wade lost his wicket after adding 19 runs on the scoreboard, while Sai Sudharsan had to go back to the pavilion in the 8th over. But Hardik Pandya, the skipper of the Titans, tackled the situation. He scored the highest 50 runs for the team. Moreover, Abhinav Manohar added 35 runs at the last moment. As a result, Gujarat set a target of 163 runs for the SRH.

Chasing down the target, the two openers of Sun Risers Hyderabad started brilliantly. Skipper Kane Williamson made a superb partnership of 64 runs with Abhishek Sharma. Both were looking good on the pitch. They also made a base for the remaining players to chase the target. However, Sun Risers Hyderabad lost their first wicket in the 9th over as Abhishek Sharma departed after scoring 42 runs. But, Kane Williamson continued picking runs. He got a half-century in this match. Unfortunately, Williamson lost the wicket in the 17th over. However, Nicholas Pooran chased the target successfully with the new batsman, Aiden Makram. Pooran added 35 runs to win the match. As a result, the SRH sealed the victory in 19 overs.