Sri Lanka won the three-match ODI series against South Africa

Sri Lanka won the three-match ODI series against South Africa
© Twitter

Sri Lanka have won their home series, defeating South Africa. They hosted a three-match ODI series against South Africa, where they have won the series by 2-1. The series was tied at 1-1, but Sri Lanka won the last match of the series today and took the series to themselves.

3rd ODI Match Report

In the final match of the series, Sri Lanka won the toss in the Premadasa Stadium and was elected to bat first. Depending on the middle order and lower middle-order batsman, Sri Lanka managed to score 203 after losing nine wickets in 50 overs.

Protease bowler Keshav Maharaj took Sri Lanka’s first wicket in the fourth over. Two overs later, Sri Lanka lost another wicket. Then the Lankan batsman, Dhananjaya de Silva tried to take the responsibility for the team. But after scoring 31 runs, he had to back to the dressing room. The next batsman Asalanka wanted to play long innings. He faced 71 bowls and score 47 runs for the team, which was the highest individual score for the Lankans. So, after fifty overs, Sri Lanka scored 203 runs and lost nine wickets. The Protea captain Keshav Maharaj took three wickets of Sri Lanka. Linde and Shamsi also took two wickets each.

Don’t miss:  India Tour of England 2021

Chasing the target of 204 runs, South Africa did not have a good start. It was an easy target to chase, but they couldn’t make it. The hero of the last match, Janneman Malan has failed in this match. He scored only 18 runs. None of the Protea batsmen could do enough to chase the target. Their highest individual score was only 22 runs. Heinrich Klaasen scored this run for South Africa.

The Lankan bowler Maheesh Theekshana took four wickets of the Proteas alone. He literally destroyed the South African’s batting line-up. W. Hasaranga and D. Chameera both got two wickets each. For the aggression of the Lankan bowlers, South Africa became all-out in just 125 runs.


Sri Lanka won the match by 78 runs and conquered the series. Dushmantha Chameera became the Player of the Match, and Asalanka got the reward for Player of the Series.