Comilla Victorians stun Sylhet Strikers in the Play-Off

Comilla sealed the final
© Twitter

Sylhet Strikers have been fantastic in the BPL this season. They ended the group stage, staying on top. But Comilla Victorians smashed them in the play-off round. Today, The Victorians defeated Sylhet Strikers by four wickets with 20 balls in hand.

This victory has sealed a place in the final of the BPL for Comilla Victorians. On the other hand, Sylhet Strikers still have a chance for the final. They will play against Rangpur Riders in the 2nd playoff. The winner of this match will face Comilla in the final.

As it happened

Today, Comilla Victorians played against Sylhet Strikers in the play-off. Imrul Kayes, the captain of the Victorians, won the toss and decided to bowl first.

So, Sylhet Strikers started their batting innings with Najmul Hossain and Shafiqullah Ghafari. However, Sylhet Strikers were not lucky enough to get a good start. They lost their first wicket in the 2nd over as Andre Russell picked up Shafiqullah Ghafari.

Don’t miss:  2nd T20: South Africa defeated India

The Strikers lost another batter in the same over. This time, Towhid Hridoy departed the pitch after being run out by Tanvir Islam. Zakir Hasan, the following batter, also failed to contribute much.

But Najmul Hossain Shanto tried to handle the situation with the skipper, Mashrafee Mortaza. Together they added 56 runs on the scoreboard. With two sixes and two fours, Mashrafee Bin Mortaza scored 26 off 17 balls before leaving the pitch. Najmul Hossain Shanto also lost his wicket in the following over. Shanto scored the highest 38 runs for Sylhet Strikers. Relying on their bat, Sylhet Strikers ended their innings with 125 runs.

Chasing the target, Comilla Victorians had an aggressive start. Liton Kumar Das and Sunil Narine, the two openers of the Victorians, started hitting boundaries from the very first over. Although Liton lost his wicket in the 4th over, Narine scored a very aggressive 39 runs only from 18 balls.

Don’t miss:  Comilla Victorians continue their winning run

Sylhet Strikers, however, picked up some wickets in the middle overs. But Mosaddek Hossain and Moeen Ali’s runs were enough to win this match. Moeen Ali scored 21 off 13, while Mosaddek Hossain remained not out in 27 runs. In the end, Comilla Victorians won the match by 4 wickets and secured the final.