India won the first T20 of the series

India VS England T20 Series
© Twitter

After the five-match test series between England and India, both teams have returned to the T20 format. England have hosted a three-match T20 series against India. However, the series started last night with the first match at Rose Bowl Cricket Ground, where India defeated the home team by 50 runs. Hardik Pandya won the Player of the Match award for his brilliant performance.

Match Report

Rohit Sharma, the captain of India, has returned to the squad after suffering from an injury. However, he won the toss at the Rose Bowl Cricket Ground and decided to bat first. As a result, the skipper started the innings with Ishan Kishan. Rohit Sharma tried to play aggressively, while Ishan Kishan was a bit slow. Unfortunately, Rohit lost his wicket to Moeen Ali in the 3rd over. He scored 24 off 14 balls before his departure.

After a while, Ishan Kishan also departed the pitch. But Deepak Hooda then made a brilliant partnership with Suryakumar Yadav. Together they added 43 runs on the scoreboard. Both batsmen were too aggressive on the pitch. Before losing the wickets, Suryakumar Yadav scored 39 off 19 balls, and Deepak Hooda scored 33 runs. Moreover, Hardik Pandya accelerated the pace of picking runs. He scored 51 runs with six boundaries and one over-boundary. Relying on their bats, India scored 198 runs in 20 overs.

Don’t miss:  Australia secure the ODI series against England

Chasing down the massive target, the home team lost their first wicket in the very first over. Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar picked up the wicket of Josh Buttler. The English skipper departed the pitch without scoring any runs. Moreover, England lost three more wickets from the 5th to the 7th overs. In the 5th over, Hardik Pandya picked up two wickets, Dawid Malan and Liam Livingstone.

However, Harry Brook and Moeen Ali tried hard to handle the disaster. But they couldn’t go far enough. Brook scored 28, while Moeen Ali departed the pitch in 36 runs. In addition, Chris Jordan remained not out in 26 runs. But the remaining batters couldn’t contribute much. As a result, England became all out in 148 runs, and India won the match by 50 runs.