Pakistan win the Tri-nation series

Pakistann win the series
© Twitter

Pakistan have won the tri-nation series by defeating New Zealand in the final. Today,  New Zealand and Pakistan faced off at Hagley Oval, where Pakistan defeated the home team by five wickets. A brilliant performance with both bat and ball earned Pakistani all-rounder Mohammad Nawaz the Player of the Final award.

Match Report

In the final, Pakistan’s skipper Babar Azam won the toss and decided to bowl first.  Therefore, New Zealand started their batting innings with Finn Allen and Devon Conway. But they failed to get a good start for the Black Caps. New Zealand lost their first wicket in the very first over as Naseem Shah picked up Finn Allen.

After that, Kiwi captain Kane Williamson came into the crease and tried to build a partnership with Devon Conway. Together they added 35 runs on the scoreboard. Unfortunately, Conway couldn’t stay long on the pitch. Pacer Haris Rauf bowled out Devon Conway in the 6th over.

Don’t miss:  Pakistan win the three-match T20 series

However, captain Williamson played a vital role in the middle order. He kept adding runs on the scoreboard. Glenn Phillips also contributed a lot to the team. He helped the skipper to make a long partnership. With Phillips, Williamson added 50 runs for the Black Caps. Their partnership was looking good, but Mohammad Nawaz made a breakthrough by taking the wicket of Glenn Phillips. Phillips scored 29 runs before leaving the crease. Anyway, Kane Williamson scored the highest 59 runs from 38 balls. Mark Chapman also added 25 runs. Relying on their runs, New Zealand scored 163 runs in 20 overs.

Pakistan had a slow start, chasing the target. Captain Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan made a partnership of 29 runs on the opening wicket. The captain departed the pitch after scoring 15 runs. But Mohammad Rizwan continued showing his class in the final match as well. With four boundaries, Mohammad Rizwan scored 34 runs for the team.

Don’t miss:  India defeated Ireland by 7 wickets

However, Pakistan suffered significant losses with the loss of Rizwan and Shan Masood. It seemed they would fail to chase the target. But Mohammad Nawaz and Haider Ali stepped forward to save Pakistan. Nawaz remained not out in 38 runs, while Haider Ali scored 31 runs only from 15 balls. Therefore, Pakistan chased the target within 20 overs and won the final by five wickets.